Peter Loves Penguin

wpid-new-doc-44_1.jpg.jpeg

Peter Loves Penguin

Author: David McPhail

Illustrator: David McPhail

Published: 2014

 

I just came across Peter Loves Penguin at the library and it looked really cute, so I checked it out and read it to my son. He absolutely loves this book! It is about a little boy and his stuffed penguin and how they spend their day together. In this book Peter and Penguin wake up together and they go outside to build a snowman. It illustrates a perfect friendship between a boy and his stuffed animal; so sweet! Every child will be able to relate to this story and it helps teach them the importance of friendship, caring, and sharing.

I adore how simple this story is. There is only one sentence on each page and each sentence wpid-new-doc-45_1.jpg.jpegonly contains 3 to five words. The illustrations are beautiful, simple, and accurately portray the text. They are very colorful and eye-catching as well, which is great for young children.

This is a beautiful winter story and one you should definitely get for your child. I am sure they will love it! I believe it would be appropriate to start reading as early as 6 months because of its simplicity, even though the recommend age is one year. There are other books that are similar to this one by David McPhail and I can’t wait to read those as well!

Leave a comment