King Jack and the Dragon

New Doc 7_1King Jack and the Dragon

Author: Peter Bently

Illustrator: Helen Oxenbury

Published: 2011

 

In King Jack and the Dragon, Jack, Zack, and Casper use their imaginations to create a castle and spend their day fighting dragons and beasts until their parents come to take them home. Take my word for it that this is a really cute book!

The rhyming text flows so well throughout the story that it is perfect for reading aloud and the story itself is cute and entertaining. I love the author’s use of suspense throughout the story to really keep the listeners interested and it isn’t very long. King Jack and the Dragon is also a great story because it is so relatable to other children. I am sure that lots of children who read this either have or will want to build a fort. It really helps to build their imagination!New Doc 8_1

The writing is accompanied by the most amazing illustrations from one of my favorite illustrators, Helen Oxenbury. Her drawings are so incredibly detailed and the switching between black and white to color is rather intriguing. I think it helps to keep children’s attention longer when pictures switch colors like this. Also, the pictures of the beasts in the story really remind me of those from Where the Wild Things Are.

This is a great, imaginative book to read to children between 2 and 5 years. I think older than 5 and they might start getting bored of it because it is a pretty simple story. My son and I both love the this book and we are sure that you will too!


A review by Story Patch

A review by Waking Brain Cells

A review by Book Page 

Leave a comment