Dinosaur Rescue!

wpid-new-doc-9_1.jpg.jpegDinosaur Rescue

Author: Penny Dale

Illustrator: Penny Dale

Published: 2013

 

 

Dinosaur Rescue! is another great book from Penny Dale! It is about a truck that gets a flat tire while crossing a train track and the dinosaur rescue crew has to stop the train before it’s too late. This book combines dinosaurs with all sorts of rescue vehicles including a firetruck, an ambulance, a police car, and even a helicopter; there is also a train and a tow truck as well. This book is perfect for my son because he is currently obsessed with all sorts of vehicles. It’s also a great book because it is so simple to read that I often find my son reading it by himself.

After reading this book about a million times I have really come to enjoy the text. The repetition of certain words and phrases makes it fun for children to listen to and once old enough they can even try reading along. My son enjoys reading aloud the different words that are repeated on each page such as “help, help help” or” wee-woo, wee-woo, wee-woo”.wpid-new-doc-10_1.jpg.jpeg This is also how he reads the story to himself after I have read it to him a few times. If you have read the other book in this series, Dinosaur Dig!, then you may find the text in this book doesn’t seem to flow as well or is as catchy as that book; however, I still enjoy this book and so does my son and the writing is still pretty good. Dinosaur Dig! is still my favorite, but I think my son loves this one more.

I also love how simple and short the story is, but also how exciting it is for children to listen to. There is so much anticipation throughout the story because you are wondering whether or not the train will stop in time.

Once again, Penny Dale’s illustrations are spectacular! I love how colorful and detailed they are, as well as all the expressions of the dinosaurs.

I also wanted to mention that in the hard cover edition the end papers in the front list all the different dinosaurs and the ones in the back list all the different vehicles used in the story. My son absolutely loves this part of the book because he can name almost all of the vehicles. It is a shame that it isn’t in the board book version (at least not for the other books).

Any child 18 months or older will adore this book! Especially if they love dinosaurs or emergency vehicles.

Leave a comment