Snowmen At Work

wpid-new-doc-41_1.jpg.jpegSnowmen At Work

Author: Caralyn Buehner

Illustrator: Mark Buehner

Published: 2012

 

I find it rather difficult to find quality picture books related to winter or  to Christmas, but I finally found one! Snowmen At Work is such a great story about a boy who builds a snowman and then wonders what kind of jobs they do. Each of the following pages explores these different jobs including a dentist, a pet store owner, a teacher, or even a magician! The rhyming, rhythmic text of the story is incredibly enchanting and flows very well. I was surprised at how well the words rhymed, how nothing interrupted the flow of the story, and how fun this book is to read.

The text combined with fantastic illustrations is what really makes this book. The illustrations are brightly colored, cute, eye catching, and just plain brilliant! I just can’t get over how everything is snow man related including the cute snow animals in the pet store.Not only are there tons of things to look at and discuss on each page, there are also wpid-new-doc-40_1.jpg.jpegsome hidden pictures including a rabbit, a cat, a t-rex, and a mouse that appear in every painting! This would be a lot of fun for older readers! Parents and children would have to work together to find these items on the pages because some are very difficult to find; I haven’t even found them all.  Anyway, these are some of the best paintings I have seen in a children’s book!

My son and I really enjoy this book and I am sure you will too! I highly recommend getting this for children 2 and a half and older as a fun winter time read! It will be enjoyed for many years!

Leave a comment